For her; for me

images.jpg

Today I want to give my Mommy issues a rest. Instead, I find the girl in me wants to let loose on my siblings, D and K. [Caveat: None of what’s about to come out includes anything to do with the brother I live with, T, who is kind of like my twin. We’re very close in age, finish each other’s sentences, and always have each other’s backs.]

D and K. What a fucking pair of fuckwits to be brought up with.

It was a dark 4 a.m. when my head started tormenting me. And it was D and K’s voices and nasty faces I saw. Telling me how spoiled I am. Telling me what a baby I am. Telling me how I can’t, it isn’t possible, I’m not that good, I’m not wanted, I was a mistake, I’m a horrible person, I deserved it.

I think I recognize now that both D and K retreated into different worlds from me. If I suffered abuse – physical, sexual, and/or emotional – then I’m sure they did, too. For one thing, they’re both fucked up. Seriously. My sister, K (who I usually refer to as SHE WHO MUST NOT BE NAMED) took on the mantle of serial narcissist abuser. My brother D was told he suffered from antisocial personality disorder while still in high school. Older than me by six (brother D) and four (sister K) years, to me they were practically adults. They were always ‘in charge’ when it was just us kids. They knew more, were stronger, and far more devious than I ever was.

It was like tying up a lamb in lion country and just waiting for them to come in for the kill.

When I look back, the most brotherly or sisterly thing those two ever did for me was to introduce me to alcohol and marijuana. And that’s not saying much.

They’d deny everything. Tell you it’s my fault. It was my choice to drink heavily, smoke heavily, go out all night, get involved with abusers, get into trouble, mess up my life completely. That’s all true.

What they’d gloss over would be my side of the story. How pushed away I felt from the two of them. How once I began drinking and smoking marijuana I became ‘cool’ enough to hang out with, and how much that meant to me. How they often enabled that behavior in me, to the point of excess.

Sounds like a set up to me.

D encouraged my risky sexual behavior. There was nothing – and I mean nothing – he enjoyed more than hearing about my nights out, my conquests and exploits. Maybe he didn’t mean to do that, but that’s the message I got. *sigh* Though I’d put nothing past him. D is the one who was sexually attracted to me. He once fucked a friend of mine because it was the closest thing to fucking me (his words). I don’t ever remember him hugging me when I was little. Once we got older, though, we hugged. Always with his hips at least a foot away from my body, like he was afraid that if he got too close I’d feel his hard on (speculation, but probably dead on). D was the one who told me (calmly, which might have been the weirdest part about it) that he regularly killed people in his mind to relieve tension, and that of course he’d killed me many times in his head.

To K, I was a person of convenience. Feel lonely? Call on me to keep you company. I was not someone to share much with. I was someone to compete with.

I don’t want to talk about her.

The two of them together, hitting me (figuratively) from either side while mom flat out ignored me was a twisted situation. Straight out of a Tennessee Williams play.

And all this happened while T was in the military. We lost touch, not so much a bad parting as just an inability on MY part to accept that what the family was doing to me was fucked up. T’s experiences away from the family warrant a Tolstoy sized novel, but they’re not my stories to tell. But I will tell you this: during that time, he went thru homelessness, misdiagnosis, and what amounts to abuse. He did not have an easy time of it. What he did have was a stronger sense of himself than I ever did.

I missed that. His conviction. His rational arguments. The rest of the family relied on emotional manipulation. T has always appealed to my brain. He takes me down, line by line, irrefutable with each statement, until I have to admit he’s got a point. He only addresses the emotional side to the extent that he acknowledges how wrapped up in it I get, and he does his best to first soothe my nerves before asking me to do anything else. Rational arguments we can talk about.

Emotional manipulation we can’t. It just IS. It’s done TO you. There’s no exchange. It’s akin to fucking mind rape.

And baby, I’ve been mind raped for years.

I am smoking waaaaaaaay too much this morning.

So. don’t. care.

Well, the girl got me up early. She knows she’s got time today to do whatever she wants. Right now, she wants to play. Opened up my games online yesterday to see SIXTY PERCENT OFF so I coughed up a whole €19 for five new computer games. Silly stuff, and I love it. Got one where I’m a fish and all I do is eat smaller fish to grow and grow. You get big enough to eat people and helicopters and cities. The sound effects make me laugh. That one ALONE was worth the €19. Got 4 others, too.

So that’s it. Be safe. Safe enough to feel like writing a bit later on. Doesn’t matter if the words are ‘good enough’ (don’t ask me what that entails; even I don’t know). All that matters is that time is allowed for whatever. For her. For me.

2 thoughts on “For her; for me

Leave a Reply

